BUTLER COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

January 3, 2025

A special meeting of the Board of Supervisors of Butler County, Nebraska was held on the 3rd day of January 2025 at the Butler County Courthouse Supervisors Meeting Room in David City, Nebraska at 9:00 a.m.

Present were the following: Tony Krafka, Scot Bauer, Scott Griess, Jan Sypal, Robert Coufal & Scott Steager. Absent: Ryan Svoboda.

Notice of the special meeting was given in advance thereof, by Publication on the Banner Press Website, postings in and around David City as well as the Villages in Butler County, a designated method for giving notice, as shown by the Proof of Publication attached to the minutes. Notice of this meeting was given to all members of the Board and a copy of their acknowledgement of receipt of notice and the agenda is attached to the minutes. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to all members of the board of this meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present.

The Chairman called the meeting to order and announced that a complete copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the meeting room.

Discussion/possible action to close the Butler County Courthouse to align with the National Day of Mourning declared by President Biden

The board discussed whether the courthouse should be closed on January 9th to follow the Federal and State observing the National Day of Mourning. Steager informed the board that Colfax, Polk, and Seward Counties would be closed but Platte would be open. He also said that the Post office and the banks at this time will be open. Sypal thought the courthouse could be open until noon to allow the board to have their board meeting and to accommodate the public during that time. Moved by Sypal, seconded by Griess to close the courthouse at noon on January 9, 2025 to observe the National Day of Mourning declared by President Biden and pay employees 4 hours of holiday pay. Upon roll call vote the following voted:

Aye: Sypal, Griess, Bauer, Krafka, Coufal, & Steager. Nay: NONE. Absent: Svoboda. Motion carried.

Discussion/possible action - to act on moving the previously scheduled Board of Supervisors meeting for January 9, 2025 at 9:00 a.m. to January 10, 2025 at 9:00 a.m. No action taken

There being no further business to come before the board, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 9:12 a.m. The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Supervisors will be January 9, 2024, at 9:00 a.m.

Stephanie L. Laska County Clerk Scott Steager Chairman